under the canopy...
Brain Salad, Electronic, Folk, Hip-Hop, Indie Rock, Mixes/Compilations, Remixes

Brain Salad – February

Brain Salad – February

This was the first monthly Brain Salad Release (ask me why there’s no January).  I wasn’t really sure what I was doing when I started.  It began as a simple playlist in my iTunes of songs that I couldn’t stop listening to, and then I decided I must share this gloriousness with the world.  So come the end of the month I set out to search for some album art, and here we are.  The mix starts and ends (and middles?) with Rolling in the Deep, the absolutely absurdly good track from Adele.  This is one of the few songs I enjoy hearing on top 40 radio, and its because the splendidness cannot be ignored.  Next, comes a newish track from the lovely Mumford and Sons, and I really can’t get enough of these guys.  Another band I can’t get enough of, which you may know if you’ve had any sort of musical conversation with me, is Young the Giant (formerly the Jakes),  who are featured twice with their old song Take Me Home, and with their cover of Rolling in the Deep.  Tallest Man on Earth is the truth, nuff said, I love that squirelly dood.  After Vampire Weekend’s fun Fleetwood Mac cover, the mix stays primarily electronic.  Dabbles in some hip-hop with some Odd Future and Jesty, two of the most on point groups/people in hip-hop.   Before the remixes at the end of the mix there are a couple atmospheric electronic tracks(Contact High will remain in my head for the rest of the year). Can’t get enough Jamie xx, he’s got producer’s midas touch.  The end spell of remixes are either fun, dirty, filthy, or nasty.  Listen and decide.

tracklist after the jump. 

Tracklist**************

  1. Rolling in the Deep – Adele
  2. Sister – Mumford and Sons
  3. Take Me Home – The Jakes
  4. The Gardner – Tallest Man on Earth
  5. Everywhere (Fleetwood Mac cover) – Vampire Weekend
  6. Contact High – Architecture In Helsinki
  7. The Last Man in Space – Jesty Beatz
  8. Brain ft. Domo Genesis – MellowHype
  9. Rolling in the Deep (Adele Cover) – Young the Giant
  10. NY is Killing Me – Gil Scott Heron & Jamie xx
  11. Need you Now – Cut Copy
  12. I Follow Rivers – Lykke Li
  13. Ungirthed – Purity Ring
  14. Hello (Dada Life Remix) – Martin Solveig & Dragonette
  15. Sandstorm (Vaski Remix) – Darude
  16. Sabali (Miike Snow Remix) – Amadou and Mariam
  17. Breakfast (Mercury Remix) – Le Le
  18. Rolling in the Deep (Adele Cover) – Mike Posner

*Click below to download*

http://www.mediafire.com/?z87a59wfzaofabt

Thanks and share.  Also thanks.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

