under the canopy...
Electronic, Indie Rock

Discovery

Most of my summers throughout out my life have had “songs of the summer” that I easily associate with them, and for that I am thankful, because tied to those songs are sooo many memories that I hold very close to my heart and Brain. Well for the summer of 2009, there was an entire album that made its way into my life, and grabbed ahold of my ears and never ceased to release. That album was the Discovery LP. For those unaware, this was the brain child of Wes Miles, the lead singer of the amazing Ra Ra Riot, and Rostam Batmanglij, the keyboardist from the always fun Vampire Weekend.  The album is considered indie electronic rock with some R&B influences.  What really does it for me is the textures and color of the synths that are used on this album.  On Osaka Loop Line, the intro is a hard thick synth line with an abrupt pause, that lets you feel the beat before the kick drum and claps come in.  Rostam is a big fan of clap samples and cheesy 80’s type percussion.  This style works really well alongside Wes Miles’ vocals and really makes me smile to listen to.  I can always go back and listen to this entire album, from the enchanting synth patterns, to the fat bass drums, and poppy claps.  I love every minute of it.

For Fans of:  Vampire Weekend, Passion Pit, Two Door Cinema Club

Can You Discover (Ra Ra Riot cover)

[audio http://www.archive.org/download/Discovery_504/03CanYouDiscover_.mp3]

Osaka Loop Line

[audio http://www.archive.org/download/Discovery_504/02OsakaLoopLine.mp3]

So Insane

[audio http://www.archive.org/download/Discovery_504/05SoInsane.mp3]

Swing Tree

[audio http://www.archive.org/download/Discovery_504/06SwingTree.mp3]

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Discovery

  1. Dude I remember frisbee golfing and you talking about this Discovery, we got back and listened to it and I instantly was down with it. Great to see it re-surfaced and even better to listen to it again.
    P.S. I’ve been listening to Ra Ra Riot and that cover was tiiiiiiiiiiight!

    Posted by Tevin | 2011, 4:53 pm

Leave a Reply

