under the canopy...
Mixes/Compilations

Songs with Friends – Music 4 Bears – A New Mix From the Brain Forest

**Music 4 Bears**

Lately I’ve been tryin to catch up with some of the mixes that I promised people I would personally craft for them.  And instead of making mixes and only letting a sole person enjoy their loveliness, I decided to share them with the world.  So here is the Music 4 Bears Mix.  I made this for a friend who requested that I make a mix that wasn’t “all folky and sad”.  So I set out to bring together a set of songs that were the types of songs that bears could enjoy.  Now I’m talking about friendly happy Coca-Cola bears not the blood thirsty Black bears that terrorize the people of the woods.  So these songs are for all bears that are good.  Theodore Roosevelt Bears, Poo Bears, Bears that Care, Bears from Chicago, and et cetera Bears.

The first segment of the mix is the campy, festive, SmileAndClapYourHands type of songs that you might hear in a commercial for summer clothes or hair conditioner.  It starts with “Up Up Up” By Givers off their amazing album, In Light.  I have been a huge fan of this song and it was multiplied tenfold when I found THIS VIDEO.  Next is “You, Me, & The Bourgeoisie”  by the Submarines who snuck up on me and surprised me with their intelligent pop music.  It get’s folky for a moment with “Live in a Van” by Burlap to Cashmere, which I imagine the baby bear from Goldilocks singing as his life isn’t as glorious it was in the heyday of the Goldilocks story.  Then comes an amazing roots blues rock song from the ridiculously talented Alabama Shakes titled, “Hold On”.  These guys have a bright future, I caught them at a free show in Cincinnati and have been preaching about them ever since.  Next comes “Colours” by the excellent Grouplove, which was featured in remix form on Brain Salad – November.  The song “Lighthouse” by the Art Pop band NewVillager, comes off their self-titled album that I have been completely obsessed with as of late.  They posses a unique grasp on making extremely interesting pop songs that have been stuck in my head for quite a long time.  This vimeo video and a video game commercial brought “Sail” by AWOLNATION to my attention, and it stuck there because of its intensity and catchy melody.  Yacht brings up the conclusion of the mix with a fun little number “Psychic City” which I didn’t love until I heard it for the third time.  “We Bros” from the up-and-coming band Wu Lyf, which is covered in reverb and distortion, and drags you away into some dreamy soundscape that somehow holds a rhythm.

Well I all the bears fully enjoy this mix, and all the rest of you mammals tolerate and recognize it for what it is.  And please explore these artist further if you like their song on this mix.  Most of the artists have excellent album out now.

**Tracklist**

  1. Up Up Up – Givers
  2. You, Me, & the Bourgeoisie – The Submarines
  3. L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N. – Noah and the Whale
  4. Got it All (This Can’t Be Living Now) – Portugal. The Man
  5. Live in a Van – Burlap to Cashmere
  6. Hold On – Alabama Shakes
  7. You’re Too Weird – Fruit Bats
  8. Colours – Grouplove
  9. Meantime – Givers
  10. Lighthouse – NewVillager
  11. Sail – AWOLNATION
  12. The Bay – Metronomy
  13. Psychic City – YACHT
  14. Grounds For Divorce – Elbow
  15. We Bros – WU LYF
  16. How To Get Back – NewVillager

**CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD**

Thanks and enjoy and Thanks.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Preacher And The Bear Song - 2012

Leave a Reply

