under the canopy...
Brain Salad, Electronic, Folk, Indie Rock, Mixes/Compilations, Uncategorized

New Mix – Our Love

New Mix – Our Love

khee-2_640

So Sharon Van Etten has been kicking my ass lately.  I simply cannot shake the emotion conveyed on her new record Are We There.   She leads off this mix with the brooding “Our Love”, which opens with a smooth drum-machine beat that carries the song.  Also in this mix is Frankie Cosmos, whose song “School” makes me feel funny.  It’s such a simple song that carries a decent amount of weight.  Dan Croll’s “Wanna Know” lodged itself in my head for a good long while and “Warranted Queen” was a song that I caught on a mix and I was delighted to rehear a week later, this time with the artist info(Arum Rae).  “Why” from Mas Ysa is a bit of a frantic dance hit, with a fantastic hook.  Dana Buoy fell on my radar because they’re opening for Sylvan Esso on their current headlining tour.  The mix finishes with hands down my favorite producer, Jamie XX with a track he wrote on the road because he missed the UK.  While I’ve never been to the UK, I sure do miss a whole lot of places.

Tracklist after the jump

1. Sharon Van Etten – Our Love
2. Hozier – From Eden
3. Frankie Cosmos – School
4. How To Dress Well – Repeat Pleasure
5. Dan Croll – Wanna Know
6. Alpine – Hands
7. Arum Rae – Warranted Queen
8. Mas Ysa – Why
9. Dana Buoy – Come My Side
10. SOHN – The Wheel
11. Jamie xx – All Under One Roof Raving

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

